Improvement

Help Support :

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Vulkan18th

Hi All,

I went out shooting today to my local clay ground and I've found myself a bit disappointed with how things are going with my shooting performance. I shot 55/75 today which had been my highest score but I see people shooting 70+ on a regular basis at this ground. What can I do to get my numbers up to the point where I don't have bad stands and read the clays better? 

I normally do shoot with someone who used to shoot professionally and he gives me some advice and such on certain targets but feel I bit lost when he's not around, so if I'm missing the clays I try and change something but it doesn't always work.

I've been shooting for about 6-7 months now and going to various clay grounds twice a week to shoot different target but I'm getting stuck shooting 2/3 of the targets....just wondering if anyone had any advice on how I get a few more birds each round?

There is no way you should be disappointed with 2/3 after only shooting for such a short while. We all whant to do better simply beating yourself up in itself will not help your shooting I do'nt know what you try when things are not working but I would'nt get to hung up with different leads,I think better to try different hold points or shooting target earlier or later.

If you are missing targets after the first 2 or 3 pairs  getting over confident shooting the target much sooner could be a reason for missing in this way, also try to notice how the gun feels good gun movement I feel has a big part to play in shooting well. 

As Bugsey said, 55/75 is very good for someone so new to the sport. Unless you are an extremely talented newbie, do not expect to be shooting 70+ at that shooting, for some time.  What ground is this anyway/part of the world?

Your next plateau will be low 60's.