Trap gun fit

Help Support :

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Hello I'm new to trap having just done game and sporting. How does one know if a gun fits? I hear it's different to a sporter. Is it correct the mid rib bead should sit just under the end bead when the gun is mounted correctly? Thanks!

That'll do fine for the time being, just make sure it goes in the shoulder pocket, not the arm and mount the gun to the face, not shoulder first.

What 40up said.

The figure of eight with mid bead is a rule of thumb but not written in stone only experience will determine what is right for you.

Thanks guys. Typically, assuming fig of 8 ok, where should the bead/8 be in relation to the clay when firing. Clay sitting on bead?

This imo cannot and should not be answered as a lot depends on your perception of the target and your gun style. Some may tell you that the target will sit on top of the 8 BUT if you are even aware of this you are aiming or rifling the shot and this is not generally done at trap especially fast disciplines. Forget the fig 8 nonsense just take notice of your breaks if your taking the bottom of everything you need a higher comb if your taking the top off you need a lower comb. This imo is the only way to set a trap gun up as unlike a pattern plate this method takes into account your perception and the dynamics of your swing.

As an example attached are a couple of images taken today.

The first was my sons trap gun with a no. 6 Perazzi choke in at 30 yards or so. The cartridge was put directly behind the end (only) bead i.e blotting out the target with the bead. The second picture was my gun (with a 3/4 choke) with the cartridge again behind the bead.

http://www.shootclayforum.com/uploads/monthly_08_2014/post-1056-0-43120600-1407099911.jpghttp://www.shootclayforum.com/uploads/monthly_08_2014/post-1056-0-10660700-1407099927.jpg