Total Noob 1st Gun

Help Support :

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RussP

Hello, so i've semi retired always wanted an O/U 12g for clay shooting only (56yrs old). Have just completed my licencing which took erm 4 months. I'm going shopping, very excited. I don't like to go off half cocked so will be investing so as not to bleed money on trade-ins etc.

my initial budget was about £6k so i have researched and taken advice and will ultimately go to Chris Potter to buy a gun that fits me. So i am thinking stretch to £7k and get a used DT11 or similar, or just spend £4k on a 694 (or similar) and that will be good enough, i dont want to be hankering after something it will annoy me.

or a Koli sport, or a Blaser F3 or a used perazzi lower end model like the MX 2000. I like nice things that are also functional.

is a new mid range gun with warranty better than a higher end gun S/H, it wont get an enormous amount of use.

do i need an adjustable comb?

sorry for the ramble. Cheers

What Will said. A second hand sub-2k Beretta, Browning or Miroku with an adjustable comb and stock that is about the right length. 30 or 32 barrels. Go get the comb set up by someone that has a clue what they are doing. Spend shed-loads putting cartridges through it until you've started to get the hang of it a bit, then go get your fit tested again and adjusted if needed.

Once you're reasonably confident and hitting more than you are missing, if you get a hankering for something nicer you can trade it in and you won't lose much of its value. If you are going to spend more on a gun, I'd strongly recommend getting something solid that has tatty timber and investing in a custom stock. A properly fitting gun will make more difference to your progress at that stage than lots of fancy engraving etc

If you are off to Potters:

https://gun.co.uk/shotguns/beretta-682-gold-e-12g-used-gun29138