LH Eye Dominance

Help Support :

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dave1949

I am fairly new to clay shooting(about 12months) . I am left eye dominant and I was used to shooting an air rifle Left handed because of this.
Since taking up clay shooting I switched to right hand but I’m struggling big time, so i am thinking buying a L H shotgun. I am Right handed by the way. I would appreciate any help and advice

I am fairly new to clay shooting(about 12months) . I am left eye dominant and I was used to shooting an air rifle Left handed because of this.
Since taking up clay shooting I switched to right hand but I’m struggling big time, so i am thinking buying a L H shotgun. I am Right handed by the way. I would appreciate any help and advice
When you say struggling, do you mean you’ve tried various ways of closing and / or covering the left eye and it’s not working?

Yes I’ve tried 4/5 coverings, just lately I’ve taken to closing my left eye completely

Yes I’ve tried 4/5 coverings, just lately I’ve taken to closing my left eye completely
So it’s really about what feels weirder to you. Shutting left eye or shooting off left shoulder. Opinion is divided about which is the better route.

Buy a left handed gun. Worked for me and is the only true solution. Give it 250 cartridges and it will feel very natural. The big plus is that your right hand (dominant) is doing the pointing.

There are plenty of posts on this forum regarding eye dominance and anything Hamster wrote is well worth reading.

Expensive for a blob of plastic "shootSp" is what I use and it worked for me .