should i call police?

Help Support :

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jimowl

Hello all, I wondered if I could get some advice? 

I am very new to shotgun ownership but ive had my ticket and my Caesar Guerini Apex for a couple of months and have managed to get out and shoot a couple of weekends. 

The point is i'm still very inexperienced using and being around guns - and that's why im here to ask this question - in case i've got this completely wrong. 

Yesterday I was enjoying a BBQ at my parents and someone was clearly shooting nearby. Usually pairs of shots. It sounded quite close to me and I put it down to being in local fields a couple of hundred yards away. It sounded a bit nearer but that's where my lack of experience comes in - i don't have enough time spent around shooters to gauge how loud/how far away it would have been. And im used to wearing ear protection when im shooting!

So, we commented on the occasional BANG BANG and then, following another pair, about a second later we were hit by shot - of that i have no doubt at all. At least 3 of us were hit at foot/ankle level and there was a light scatter noise off the deck we were sat on. Strangely we couldn't find any of the shot, but still, i am certain that's what it was. 

My immediate reaction was to shout out. Then I went to try and find the source and it dawned on me that the fields were almost certainly way too far away to be the source. 

How far away is the shot likely to have come from because my suspicion now is that it came from the back garden of one of the houses that backs onto my parents - in which case the trigger would most likely have been pulled about 30-40 meters from where we were sat and was probably aimed at wood pigeons in heavy wooded cover between there and us.