Overcoming the Competition Yipps

Help Support :

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NedFlanders

Hi

Can anyone help me with advice on this.

I have been shooting skeet for around 3 years and thoroughly enjoy it. I shoot practice/training twice a week then either a  registered or championship events at the weekend. My PB in ESK is 97 and last year I was able to keep up with scores over 90 on a regular basis.

This year has been a disaster, I had a lesson with Todd Bender at the begining of the year and he changed some of the fundamentals of the way I shoot particularly with regard to foot position. I always accepted that I would have to practice and get used to this and so it proved to be true with my average dropping significantly.

Now I have got used to the new stance my practice scores have gone back up and I can hit over 90 again on a regular basis but I can't do it in competition or registered events. I know I can hit every bird and pair on the layout and often get 25 straight (and I have had 50 straight) in practice but as soon as I step up for a competion or registered event something goes wrong. I have a routine for every stand which I apply in practice and in competion but in competition I feel myself tense up and no matter what I try to do to relax and shoot with fluidity I cant seem to conquer it.

Any advice accepted gratefully.

Somebody will have a good answer, but here is a possible thing to try. Go and play with some sporting practice (maybe even some competitions). The idea is that you will then be doing something that requires you to think about the actual task, rather than merely have mind-management to fill your head. The sporting will both be a fresh break and get your head back on shooting clays, rather than worrying about skeet scores.

Just an idea. Might be fun too..