Newbie question about sharing a gun...

Help Support :

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Fred Flintstone

Ok, as a newbie, I don’t know the ‘etiquette’ of the sport yet beyond safe gun handling etc.

Getting ahead of myself slightly... but lets suppose I want to take a non-SGC holder with me for some practice clays. I’m aware he/she could shoot with me as a cert holder, but what is the general acceptance on their use of a gun... should I have/take 2, to allow them their own to use for the session, or is it acceptable for us to both share 1 Gun?

I realise some clubs have loan guns, but guess each have their own rules about loaning a non-SGC accompanied with a cert holder who is not on a lesson or with an instructor.

If you only have 1 gun, what do you do when taking a friend along?

Not sure how this works, so would appreciate an insight!

TIA

Last edited by a moderator:
First you have to check the ground has a section 11(6) exemption to allow non certificate holders the ability to use a shotgun at a time and place approved for shooting at artificial targets by the Chief Officer of Police, not all grounds have this.

The section 11(6) exemption is issued by the Chief of police and it has recommended guidelines of issue, those guidelines of issue can vary from force to force and even ground to ground.

When a ground applies for an exemption, they state that they will comply with those guidelines before the exemption is issued and as the exemption is the grounds their additional rules could also apply.

I know some Police forces and/or grounds stipulate being supervised, by an authorised person from the ground staff and not just a mate with a certificate and that they also have to sign a notice that they are not a prohibited person.