20 Bore or 12 Bore Ultralight?

Help Support :

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ChrisPackham

I would ready appreciate help with this conundrum as i am still new to shooting. I will be buying a Game gun in time for my Game shooting to start in October and i am unsure as to whether to get a 20 Bore or a 12 Bore Ultra light.  The syndicates i have joined are a mix of walked up and driven shooting and although my clay gun (686 Evo E) would be OK for driven even then its still heavy, I have considered an SXS which is what i have been using for rough pigeon and vermin shooting (cheap AYA Number 3) but the sxs i like (Beretta 486) is out of my budget.

I like the idea of a 20 bore due to the weight saving but am a little nervous that as a relative beginner my risk of winging something is increased with 20 bore over 12 bore, however i would appreciate honest feedback from people that use them and sadly the internet seems to only hold magazine marketing BS.

I would be looking at one of Beretta Ultralight Gold, Beretta SP1 Classic, Beretta 690 iii Field or Browning 725 Hunter in black and gold, all guns are similar in fit.

All thoughts appreciated

both calibre`s are about the same, shoots the same almost ,same amount of shot, ie 1oz or whatever,,ammo is more expensive for a 20g, and not as much choice. depends if you make 15  shots a day or 200,, my money is on a 12g

Unless your shooting very high birds requiring big payloads and shot size i would look at the SxS or a 30" O&U 20bore.

The 20b is every bit as capable as the 12b. 28gram/30ram is exactly that no matter if its from a 20 or 12. If you go 20 O&U I would recomend a 28/30gram load and my favorite game 20bore load is Gambore pure gold ! 

The SxS does sit nicely over the fore-arm if you wanted to stay 12b, but I would stick to a 30gram load of 5`s or 6`s if you went this route. 

ATB

Matt