Gun Storage (Not at home)

Help Support :

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tunnie

Hi,

Newbie here, so I've done a couple of Corporate Clay shoots and I did one on my stag, each time out of a round of 40 clays I've been hitting 30+, so really pleased and hooked!

Perhaps all those hours on XBOX Call of Duty paid off?  :D

Anywho, looking at getting into the Sport. I'm based in Camberley, I really like idea of Bisley Shooting club as they will store a gun as part of the membership. (@ £275/Yr) + £25 joining fee. Now my Wife won't let me store a gun at home, it's a non-starter to try and convince her it would be secure and locked away in a cabinet.  :frown:

So this means I need to store a gun at a Club, my concern with Bisley is I have to pay £300 bucks up front (sadly no monthly payment scheme!) - plus I also want have my own gun say a Miroku or Lanber. (£500?) Before all that I need to get my SGC (£80), having run Surrey Police they state they look for membership as part of SGC if I don't store it at home. So the £300+500+80 is a large outlay for myself. Also it can take around 8 weeks to process SGC, so for about 2 months I would only be able to use tuition based shooting at Bisley. (expensive!)

My current plan is to go to Chalky Hill Shooting at Basingstoke (Three Counties) do some lessons there as there is no membership fee and I can just pay for around 3 lessons. (around £40 for 25 clays and cartridges) They said once I've done that, I can pay £10 to borrow a gun for a session, then just play for clays and cartridges. This would allow me to really test the water with the sport.