Gun cleaning spray

Help Support :

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gaz365

I'm fairly new to shooting and have just used up my first can of Napier cleaning spray. Before I order a new can, is the browning stuff that is supposed to be safe to get on wood any good? I'm careful not to get oil on the wood if possible, but nearly always get a little bit on the wood when wiping over the action. Am I just worrying too much about it? Thanks.

You are worrying about it a bit too much. :smile:   I use the Napier stuff and have done for some years, it's very light and wipes off the wood easily.

Before you dash out and spend a fortune on 'Gun cleaning products', may I explain how I clean my guns. If the bores are really dirty and have plastic fouling in the chamber area, I spray some Phillips barrel cleaner down each barrel and then lay them flat on the bench whilst I go and have a cuppa. After some 20/30 minutes, I roll 3 pieces of bog roll together and shove into one barrel, repeat for the other barrel. Then push rod and bronze brush (Payne Galway variety) into barrel forcing the bog roll through at the same time. This is usually sufficient to get them clean, I then follow with a second rod and plastic jag, fitted with a further 3 pieces of bog roll folded lengthwise and shortened to fit barrel. Wipe the outside of metalwork with a micro fibre cloth soaked in car engine oil (preferably clean oil !).  If the barrels have a centre vented rib, I spray them with 3 in 1 aerosol can oil (99p in pound shop) and stand on newspaper, inverting barrels after around 15 minutes. Wipe out the action and breech face with oil soaked rag, apply some Lucas red grease ( £6 off Ebay for a MASSIVE tub) to hinge pin and knuckles (the guns, not mine). Remove chokes, clean and apply Lucas red gun oil (£6 a bottle off Ebay). Spray stock with beeswax furniture polish (£1.29 Home Bargains). Job Done !