Learning cartridges....

Help Support :

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Simonix

After some advice please.

I've been shooting for about 3 months. In that time I've tried the following cartridges:

21g hull comp x

27g hull superfast

24g game bore Evo

28g eley Olympics.

I'm currently half way through a slab (250) of the evo. I really like the smooth feel of them! Although I also quite liked the Olympics too.

However, ive read a few times on here, that you should "pick a cartridge and stick to it!"

If this is the case, am I better off learning and sticking with the Olympics because they are 28g and therefore more commonly used in competition, light game, etc?

Thanks in advance for any thoughts on the subject.

Regards,

Si

Last edited by a moderator:
After some advice please.

I've been shooting for about 3 months. In that time I've tried the following cartridges:

21g hull comp x

27g hull superfast

24g game bore Evo

28g eley Olympics.

I'm currently half way through a slab (250) of the evo. I really like the smooth feel of them! Although I also quite liked the Olympics too.

However, ive read a few times on here, that you should "pick a cartridge and stick to it!"

If this is the case, am I better off learning and sticking with the Olympics because they are 28g and therefore more commonly used in competition, light game, etc?

Thanks in advance for any thoughts on the subject.

Regards,

Si
Use whatever floats your boats and kills the target!

The 'one cartridge' thing is not a ballistic comment, it merely means that if you shoot only one, it is something to forget about so you can concentrate on pointing that barrel correctly.

If you like the Evos, try them in 28g form. They may be almost as smooth as 24g. I for one use 28g to take away 'the worry' that 24g might be a small disadvantage.