https://www.shootclayforum.com/topic/68537-24g-cartridges-for-a-newbie/24g cartridges for a newbie

Help Support :

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ClanCV

Newbie here; I'm just about to get my first gun and was wondering about cartridges.

A couple of experienced instructors have suggested that I start with 24g cartridges rather than 28g as I've almost exclusively used 21g cartridges (mainly Eley Select) while I've been learning. It seems to be a sensible way to start but I'm not sure what to go for, obviously I'm looking for something with low recoil.

Any suggestions would be welcome! 

Eley select also come in a 24g cartridge so logically that would appear to be your next step up.

Most brands have 24g offering which will pattern well and break anything within your capability. So enjoy your shooting.

Last edited by a moderator:
Newbie here; I'm just about to get my first gun and was wondering about cartridges.

A couple of experienced instructors have suggested that I start with 24g cartridges rather than 28g as I've almost exclusively used 21g cartridges (mainly Eley Select) while I've been learning. It seems to be a sensible way to start but I'm not sure what to go for, obviously I'm looking for something with low recoil.

Any suggestions would be welcome! 
No need as there's plenty of choice when it comes to 28g loads. Shells like the Hull Pro One DTL and Eley Gold are both 28g loads and use slow burning powders. Both shoot like a 24g with recoil that's perfectly manageable for just about everyone. There's not much difference price wise either.

I'd only recommend a light load if your body size makes it the obvious choice. There's a lot of nonsense talked about shot shells but one rule consistently applies - More Lead, More Dead. If you're shooting for score (and only if) you place yourself a disadvantage using anything less than the maximum payload.

Last edited by a moderator: