Couple of questions from a Newbie.

Help Support :

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Worcs

Hi there.

I'm new to clay pigeon shooting and have a few questions, if you don't mind helping me out.

I've been having lessons for about 4 months, I think I've had 6 one hour lessons and probably hitting around 50%, my instructor says that's quite good but I'm not sure if they're just trying to give me confidence. Anyway, I applied for my SGC after my first lesson, I'm definitely hooked.

I'm under the umbrella of West Mercia Firearms and they have recently updated their waiting times for grants to 6 months (it was 90 days when I applied). I was wondering what happens after I get my licence. Obviously I'll want to buy a gun straight away (I've already got my eye on a Beretta 690 Black Edition), but do I then have to send of my certificate to have my new gun added to it and then wait god-knows-how-long for West Mercia Firearms to update my certificate before I can go shooting without my instructor?

Also, on my SGC application, I declared a caution I got when I was around 19 (I'm 36 now) for fighting and a fine I got for possession of Ecstasy, again when I was a lot younger. I'm neither a fighter nor a drug user, both offences had mitigating circumstances and have no other offences since my early 20's. Does anyone who has their licence have similar offences or know of anyone who has been refused a licence for this sort of thing? If you are being considered to be refused, would they still come and visit me? I'm sure if they came to my property and met me, they'd realise I'm not a threat!