Vari focal glasses

Help Support :

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Centrepin

I've looked through the forum but can't find an answer.

I'm new to Clay's and wear vari focal glasses. At first I couldn't focus on the clay as I was trying to aim. My eyes aren't fast enough to refocus short to long. I shot without glasses for a short while and marginally improved. Returing to wearing glasses again I'm no worse.

My question is really, is it better to have a pair of prescription glasses made for my long focus, possibly with a tint to just concentrate on the clay.

My close vision is adequate for loading without glasses.

Thanks guys, I'm going to have a look at getting some single vision distance and leave my vari's in my bag. 

Cheap to try, about the same price as a box of 25 cartridges but last longer. 

i believe it depends on the difference in prescription between the long/short sighted, the greater the gap the harder to use as it has to be spread over the glass area, my difference is not that great and i manage to use varifocals fine, no different to any other daily activity really

I have been through this as well, I am long sighted and need glasses for distance as well as close vision.

For shooting I have single long distance lenses but they do have a 'D' section at the bottom for close vision - score cards etc 

Thanks for the replies, I think I just needed a little encouragement to justify spending "another few pounds" towards my new hobby.

I've ordered a prescription distance pair with a grey polarising lens from specsavers budget range for about the cost of a slab and spent a whole .99p on a pair from home bargains to chuck in a pocket if I need to do any close work. As I'm still very much learning I don't keep a score card at present so no worries about writing.

I have been through this as well, I am long sighted and need glasses for distance as well as close vision.