MK38 as first gun - advice please!!

Help Support :

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Thanks everybody for all of the replies and comments...

Because of the conflicting views, I'm not really sure if I am any further forward in my quest!!

Cheers

Andy
You've had excellent feedback so far, I have to agree with those who mention barrel weight as a factor as in my opinion all things such as fit/balance/grip/etc being equal, weight of barrels is prolly the most important factor of whether you reach your and the guns full potential. It isn't always just a matter of sticking lumps of lead in the stock in the hope of getting the balance neutral or in the hands so to speak. 

In ESP and Skeet terms t's usually better to start off with barrels which aren't unduly heavy, I'm no Miroku expert but I think the earlier 3800 had less of a tendency to be nose heavy, as a rough rule of thumb 32" tubes are best in the region of 1450-1550 grams, the weight becomes noticeable if not cumbersome after that. 

Andyc2,

I always go for a trap gun, mainly because the comb height suits me, as said true sporters, teague choked,  are a totally different animal, lower comb height , shorter choke tubes wood not as dense.

I think the barrel weight could be an issue for some .My Teague choked barrels weigh 1.55 Kg

My latest gun, fixed choke, short midrib weigh 1.4 Kg .

But at the end of the day we all have to see a gun we like , try it, shoot it often , get used to it , enjoy it ,

Then change it for something 'better'.

No matter how much advise we give it is down to you to make the purchase, hopefully it will be a good one.

Last edited by a moderator:
John, 

I notice your comments with lots of interest !

It is fair to say that I like Miroku ! :D

I was very surprised by your comments and weight figures.

Here are my comments for comparison.

All 32" Grade 5 MK38