I need to get out more

Help Support :

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MEM62

There is no question in this, just rambling through my own thoughts. 

I started shooting just over a couple of years ago.  Visited a DTL range, had a go and enjoyed it.  Through another interest I knew of a group that shot regularly at the A1 shooting ground in Barnet so was introduced to Sporting, which was much more interesting.  However, I always struggled to improve.  In fact I have never particularly improved and can still only hit high teens or maybe low twenties on a 50-bird round.  (Embarrassing when novices can do better!)  I had some coaching when I first started - I did the first two modules of the CPSA course and have had a couple of coaching sessions since.  A recent house move to Basingstoke meant that the trip to the A1 ground was too far so I just had the odd day out the National Clay Shooting Centre at Bisley on their DTL range.

This morning it occurred to me that my guns have not even been out of the cabinet in six months - probably due to a combination of not having any regular shooting buddies and a degree of frustration with my shooting abilities.  I always enjoy going once I have made the effort so more effort is required.  I guess I am at a point where I need to generate a bit of enthusiasm and see whether I can make something of this sport or not.    

I plan to do some research on shoots near me, preferably associated with a club.  My hope is that this will give me something to attend on regular basis and may also mean that shooting is no longer a solo pastime.  

There is no question in this, just rambling through my own thoughts.