I got a pass

Help Support :

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Xaphan

OK so the missus has given me permission to spend money and I want a new gun.

I had a grope of someones new Benelli 828u o/u at the week end and I must say I really liked the way it felt and looks, it fell into the shoulder lovely, was really well balanced and unbelievably light and I think I want one... I didn't have the cheek to ask the guy to have a go on it to see how it actually shoots cos he seemed a little nervous so I didn't want to bother him too much

The only thing that puts me off a bit is they only come in 26" or 28" barrels and I have no experience really of how much difference it makes, all the guns I have shot be it my own or friends are 30" barrels (with the exception of my side by side)

anyone got any feedback on how much difference 2" actually makes? (without the smutty replies  :wink: )

I only shoot clays and generally its ESP but sometimes Skeet

Benelli do make a nice gun, but light isn't always best especially if your going to be shooting ESP or Skeet 'seriously' which will often involve putting 100 shells through the gun in a relatively short time frame. 

Best advice is to try several, as many as you can to be precisely when we say 'try' do try to put a few shells through every one you try if you can and not just a couple.  

You'll get lots of advice on different brands and models etc but the most common guns you see on the circuit are there for a reason. If you are new to this, do try to get some good advice on what does or doesn't fit you, this can make a great difference from the start.  

You're on a great road though, have fun.