First proper lesson

Help Support :

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Nick Selby

First proper 1-2-1 lesson tomorrow morning. Had a go before but was in a group and no real coaching (managed to break quite a few clays though but think it was beginners luck).

Any advice for a newbie would be appreciated.

listen hard, relax and enjoy :) I dont know how much of a newbie you are, but if you have shot a bit, have an idea of what kind of targets you really struggle with so you can give the coach a bit of a clue and not waste precious time shooting stuff you can dust all week long.

Sit down when you get home with a glass of your favourite tipple and replay the session, I will guarantee that you will find things said in your lesson will make a lot of sense when you have time to sit and digest that maybe didnt register in the heat of shooting :)  

Thanks Fuz, I will do that. I am a real newbie but just hoping I can repeat my score from my first go and enjoy it as much.

What you score in your lesson is not important.

listen, don't be afraid to experiment and shoot out of your comfort zone, enjoy.

It is about how you apply what you learn and what you score next time out.

I am spending Thursday afternoon with Rob Eaton at Wylye to be taken around and shown how to tackle what is regarded as a difficult course as I shoot at a club which most would probably regard as a straw baler and the targets at Ashcombe, where I also go, don't change and I'm worried that I'm not getting better but just getting used to the same targets.  I have never yet shot a registered comp and this lesson is designed to be a prelude to that.  I have in mind what I struggle with but there will be lots of things that I have never yet experienced and more distant clays to shoot.  Never yet seen a battue or a rocket!