New to Shooting advice - Dundee

Help Support :

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gazere

Hey there, my name is Duncan and I am a 19 year old student in Dundee. My grandfather recently died and left me some shotguns, and so i decided with my dad to try shooting. I have now recently recieved my shotgun licence and have a SxS purdey 12ga, which was my great great grandfathers, and a SxS 12ga "horton" which i dont know much about. There is also a very old .410 single barrel which someone has told me may have been a poachers gun as it is unmarked. I would very much like to get involved with the sport, and have shot locally at auchterhouse a couple of times. Unfortunately I cant seem to find a local club, and so I was wondering if there were some more experienced shooters who could show me the ropes and help answer all the questions I have? I have been told that due to the age of the shotguns they are a bad fit for me. Hopefully there is somebody about.

Because it's more of a game gun? Should I really be looking into an O/U? It seems a shame for it to sit in the cabinet.

Probably because a Purdey is almost certainly worth rather a lot of money and it would be a shame to damage it shooting clays.

It's also likely to be lightweight and therefore you'll suffer more with recoil. Two triggers are a disadvantage on quick pairs of clays.

If you want to use it in remembrance of your grandfather and to have some fun, go for it. If you want to get more seriously into clay shooting a single trigger over and under would be a better bet.

Last edited by a moderator:
'A new Purdey costs around £89 000.'

Even if yours is worth a tiny fraction of that it's probably worth not slinging it around a clay ground. It'll probably be a game gun with an auto safety that engages every time the gun is opened. not commonly desired for clays.