Trying too hard?

Help Support :

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Zea

Hi all,

I'm having some real problems with my consistency in competitions (sporting) and hoping someone may have experienced the same who can help...

I started shooting registered competitions exactly a year ago (before this I learnt the basics for about 18 months) and as a complete novice was pretty pleased at scoring around the 50% mark on my first few comps. I was managing to hit the softer targets; not worrying too much about longer range birds, but able to hit the odd one or two. The important thing was I could 'bank' the easier targets for my ability. I was shooting a Berretta 686 Essential but had some recoil issues as it was very light so bought a 682L which is a lot heavier but has helped with recoil and provided a smoother swing. I steadily increased to around the 60% mark and was really pleased.

However, the last 5 competitions I seem to have taken a big step backwards. I can't seem to hit any of the soft/close targets, yet the long distance or fast targets I can hit fairly consistently. I am only using 21g Hull CompX cartridges and my chokes are cylinder and skeet. So I have no idea what is happening. For instance, at Weston Wood on Sunday I fell apart on the first three stands we shot (which were stands 9, 11 and 12) which I didn't consider to be too testing yet dropped a total of 17 clays! shocking! Yet on the harder stands (simo driven midi & std, and Battue & r-l crosser) I only dropped 2 on each. 

The last few times I have ended up bottom of the competition because now I can't seem to bank those softer targets and it is knocking my confidence a little.

I think perhaps I am not focusing enough on targets that used to demand my full attention, or maybe just trying too hard, but if anyone has any other ideas I would be grateful for your input.

Many thanks

Zea