Trap or monte carlo

Help Support :

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Shaun Hopkins

After a trip to the Chopsaw for my mk38 she seems to have got the right hump resulting in a major sulk :fie:   What I really mean is I am having big problems with gun fit  mainly lifting my head because the stock is to low,

So whats the difference between a trap stock and a monte carlo stock or even an adjustable comb raiser fitted to my sporting stock

after talking with hamster and hotshot today they feel a trap stock is the best option! any thoughts peeps...

With respect, all you'll get is the personal preferences of others. Gunfit is so critical you'd probably benefit from a coach giving you advice before you invest.

I am only a newbie but find my trap Monte Carlo stocked 682 easier to shoot sporting targets than my adjustable combed 686 evo apart from high driven birds which seem to be more difficult with the MC stock than the adjustable sporter stock.

After a trip to the Chopsaw for my mk38 she seems to have got the right hump resulting in a major sulk :fie:   What I really mean is I am having big problems with gun fit  mainly lifting my head because the stock is to low,

So whats the difference between a trap stock and a monte carlo stock or even an adjustable comb raiser fitted to my sporting stock

after talking with hamster and hotshot today they feel a trap stock is the best option! any thoughts peeps...
If you place an identical fit, meaning comb height, grip, pitch etc, Monte Carlo and a Trap stock alongside one another the only difference between them would be that the MC pad would sit lower in your shoulder. This may or may not be the ideal feel for you individually but will obviously vary from person to person.

As Hamster points out the only difference between the two stock styles is the drop at heel (assuming the same face measurement).