Is this a good choice for first gun?

Help Support :

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ned

I am a new shooter and am waiting (as patiently as possible!) for my SGC to arrive. Yesterday I visited an open day run by my local gun dealer. Having spoken to the chief honcho and asked his advice, I have put down a deposit on a second hand Miroku Mk 38 with fixed chokes (1/4 & 3/4), 30 inch barrels, as he advised me this would be a very good gun to get me started & beyond. I noticed that there was also a Browning B525 multi-choke for the same price, but he advised me that the Miroku was the better option. Having since trawled the forums, I am beginning to wonder whether I have had really sound advice, or whether he saw me coming and shifted a gun that had been on his shelf for rather too long. I had a shoot with the Miroku and liked it well enough, but then I have very little experience and could probably be persuaded that a blunderbuss was the weapon of choice ! I expect to be shooting English Sporting clays for the most part. Am I being paranoid? I expect I could change my mind and opt for the Browning 525 instead : informed opinion would be much appreciated.

Ned

either option will be a good gun for what you want. pick up both and see which one you prefer the best.

Personally I'd go for the miroku but would expect it to be cheaper than the browning. Have a play with the two and see what you prefer the feel of.

Miroku all the way! Have a good haggle and personaly I would get them to bore the 3/4 barrel out to half. 1/4 and 1/2 will do you well for many years :)

I personally wouldn't worry too much about chokes at this stage. Concentrate on getting something that fits (as near as dammit) and get a few lessons. You can tweak your shooting with chokes and carts when you get a little more experienced. But above all, enjoy! :D