hello from a complete newbie

Help Support :

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Hi All,

I spent a number of years during my youth hunting with a .22 air rifle and always head to a range when I am in the USA to get some target shooting in with whatever guns I can get my hands on.

I have now decided to get into clay shooting. Having some Italian heritage, I have always wanted a nice Italian gun. At the moment I am thinking about either a Beretta DT10 or DT11. I have had one lesson at Ian Coley, during which I took out a second hand DT10. It felt very comfortable, but I don't really have anything to compare it to at the moment.

I was very impressed with the facilities at Ian Coley, and my instructor was a very nice chap, but my experiences were not flawless. Having paid for a 1 hour lesson, we were only out for 45 minutes. In this time we went through 75 clays. I got very little (practically no) instruction on correct form, foot position etc. I was instructed on lead, told where I was missing and given some advice on smooth swinging of the gun, but that was about it. Including clays and carts, this 1hr (really 45 minute) lesson cost me £139 pounds. Appart from lots of encouragement, I just didn't feel like I got value for money. They suggested I sign up for a course of 6 lessons, which including clays and carts (75 per lesson) will cost me in the region of £700. At the moment, I am just not sure I am getting value out of that investment, especially when I compare what I was taught with the level of technical coaching is available through clay coah online (youtube). On the plus side, the gun shop is happy for me to take out the demo DT11 so I can try and decide which gun to go for.