Cartridge Advice for First Time Game

Help Support :

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rod M

Hi All,

I'm doing a couple of days of walk-up shooting in Scotland in December. It's my first time, so looking for some advice on cartridges. I'm assuming I need somewhere in the 28-32 gram range and 5 or 6 shot size, but not at all sure exactly what to go for (I'd much prefer a single cartridge solution).

I'll be using a Beretta 687 game with 28" barrels and fixed 1/2 & 1/4 chokes if this makes a difference. I use 28g fBlacks for clays (usually use an mk38, but have practiced with the Beretta, which is the wife's) and find the recoil acceptable through the 687 given the number of shots that will likely be fired in the field

Would much appreciate advice on both the load and any specific cartridges; for the limited number I'll need cost isn't a huge concern, but obviously nothing too silly.

Many Thanks

Rod

Last edited by a moderator:
Walked up or driven game?

If its Fibres and std driven a 30gm 6 shot would more than suffice.

Big Stuff 32Gm 5's.  Realistically, you don't need more than that.  I shot my longest pheasant by far with a 20bore 28gm 6 shot fibre and killed it stone dead.

No real reason to go for 36gm 4 shot unless you are after stratospheric birds, but then again, tight chokes are better used for that.  

Any Fiocchi Game load will do in the above. 

For what its worth, my father as an ex-gamekeeper now says his favourite shell for crows and pigeons is F-black Sporting 28gm 8.5s...........and you should see him stone wall them out at range!!!!!  

Its pattern that counts.

Firstly I’m  back to game after a long  break , so I’m no  current cartridge expert . What I have found though is that an average pheasant or partridge  doesn’t know whether you have killed it with Eley Pigeon Select at £260 /1000 or  a £350/1000 high  pheasant special from  Eley , Hull, or Gamebore .