24gm - 20 Bore Fodder?.

Help Support :

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Angelfire

As a follow on to Tinkering Bells 24gm post. If the CPSA were to push through a "new" 24 gm max load, would todays shooter be better off shooting a 20 bore, maybe a tighter pattern and a longer shot string.

Phil*

Ooh interesting idea, I have no experience of 20s so cant comment but interested in the topic

Bore diameter has nothing to do with patterning or shot string.  .410's will make "full" choke patterns.  Target shooters don't even use the lightest available 12ga guns so why would any one opt for a 20ga?  When the 24gm thing hit OT, Perazzi put together a dedicated 20ga target gun.  I have no idea if they ever sold one.

As a follow on to Tinkering Bells 24gm post. If the CPSA were to push through a "new" 24 gm max load, would todays shooter be better off shooting a 20 bore, maybe a tighter pattern and a longer shot string.

Phil*
Choke is a performance defined by percentages as we all know, and you can achieve whatever density you want from whatever gauge you want already. A longer shot string robs you of density so its merits are debatable.

Phil*
Wouldn't that create felt recoil problems for some, unless they were full sized 20 bores.

Bore diameter has nothing to do with patterning or shot string.  .410's will make "full" choke patterns.  Target shooters don't even use the lightest available 12ga guns so why would any one opt for a 20ga?  When the 24gm thing hit OT, Perazzi put together a dedicated 20ga target gun.  I have no idea if they ever sold one.
I know someone that has one! 

24g works brilliantly well through a std 20 bore barrel. But no better (probably very slightly worse) than through a 12 bore barrel. 24g even works well in a 28 bore.

If recoil is the driving force behind the possible new regs; then why not make everybody shoot with really heavy guns........