Try it all or stick with one discipline?

Help Support :

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MEM62

I am new to shooting.  I had a couple of 'have a go' sessions at a DTL club before obtaining my SGC and gun.  I have now completed the first two modules of the Shotgun Skills Course which was at the Southdown Gun Club and also spent a very enjoyable morning at the A1 shooting ground. 

I would imagine that, as a new shooter, I am looking for consistency as a basis on which to improve my skills.  So my question is, should I try multi disciplines or stick to one thing until I am hitting clays a bit more reliably?  (Or even just hitting clays!!)    

Personally - I would try a bit of everything if you are unsure. 

I started out only ever wanting to shoot Sporting - but after a while I tried some other disciplines... it's good to see everything on offer!

I'm still resolutely a sporting fan, but occasionally will try a round of DTL or something as some variety!

As Matt says, try it all as it is personal choice. I could not understand in a million years why anybody would want to focus on anything other than sporting and about 80% of shooters are the same. But that's my personal view and there is no right or wrong.

If you do choose sporting, for sure, there are skills that can be honed from skeet and trap that will help with your sporting.

I agree with the above. Try it all as you may find that you have a liking for one discipline and shoot it better (for whatever reason)

Try it all and I love most of it. Majority ESP for me but the only thing not tried is Helice but I will one day - just seem to be in the wrong place when the Have a go days come around.