Trigger pulls

Help Support :

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Simonix

So after reading a few different threads recently, I have seen/read quite a few people commenting on good or bad trigger pulls on guns. There is speak of "trigger jobs" being done on some guns to improve them, and some particular makes seem to have "superior" trigger pulls.

My question is, are we talking about a REALLY subtle difference here?!

I ask because I own 4 shotguns varying in quality and type from a Hatsan pump, to a miroku, to a CG maxum, and I can't really notice anything different?! You just point the gun, think to yourself "I want to fire now..", and the gun goes bang and hopefully you hit what you're aiming at.

I am still relatively new to the sport so maybe this means I don't notice, or maybe the trigger pull is something I never really consciously "think" about when shooting a target?

Am I just weird, or just not experienced enough yet to care?!

Maybe I'm just lucky that all my guns have particularly good triggers!? :)

Last edited by a moderator:
I think some people are more sensitive than others.I never notice any difference in shotgun triggers but I like my rifle triggers at 2 to 3 lb and it really puts me off if they are outside this.

Get much outside of 3-4lbs on a sporting shotgun and you will have something uncomfortable to use. You could get used to it, but it can't be good..

After shooting your CG for some time, pick up a Benelli Semi Auto Supersport and the difference in trigger quality will immediately become apparent. I am lucky enough to shoot a Perazzi and the trigger pulls are just sublime. Tried a mates Benelli out on Sunday and I struggled point blank with the concept of pulling the trigger. I guess it's all about muscle memory and my little brain has got too used to the amount of effort needed to shoot the P gun.

MM