The ' eyes ' have it !!

Help Support :

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Johnny batoo

I know this topic has been covered many times in the past  but thought I would put my experiences as a new shooter on here.  I have been shooting now for about 6 months, I very quickly realised with some feed back from shooters I was with that I had a eye dominance issue. After researching at great length I have determined that I have what is know as ' central vision',  meaning that I don't have a dominant eye and my focal point can change at varying distances and angles.  So far I have tried many shooting AIDS including  glasses patches , fibre optics  and even tried shooting from both shoulders without any success.   The only success I have had  of any note is to acquire the target with both eyes open, track it to gauge speed and distance then squint my left eye ( right handed)  to adjust correct lead before shooting. I know the pros and coaches will say I am at a disadvantage with one eye shut as I loose my binocular vision,  but in my view I only loose it momentarily and by then I have decided where I am shooting the target and shut my left eye to ensure the gun is in right place!  I have met other shooters that adopt simalar methods who shoot to a good standard  AA and  AAA,  As a newbie all I am saying is the so called " orthodox " way or coached way of shooting clays may not work for us all. And at the end of the day if your comfortable with the way you shoot and your able to compete to a good standard ( competitions) what's the problem?????