Morning all from South Yorkshire...

Help Support :

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hoplite

Hello one and all...

I'm just starting out in clay pigeon shooting so I thought I'd sign up here and pick a few brains along the way! I've had a couple of lessons so far and really enjoyed them - I've also being doing lots of research into the inevitable 'what gun' eternal question. (I'm liking the Browning 525, and it seems to 'fit').

My application for a SGC is in with SYP. From what I've read, turn around times seem to vary enormously from force to force, so I don't know if anyone has had any recent experience with SYP? I realise these things take time though...

Could anyone recommend any friendly, non-scary for a novice, clay grounds in the Sheffield/Rotherham/Chesterfield kind of area?

Thanks!

Hoplite...

Hello Hoplite.

I'm in pretty much the same situation as you. Had a few lessons and applied for my licence straight away. I too have been doing endless research in to the question of what gun to buy! I'm currently leaning towards a Beretta 690 Black Edition or a standard 692. 

I'm with West Mercia and the wait time for me when I applied was 90 days but their website now says 6 months :angry: . You've probably read this, but from the south Yorkshire website: " The application for a grant of a Shotgun or Firearms Certificate will take approximately ten weeks from receipt of a correctly completed application."

Hi Worcestershire

Thanks for your reply and the link from the SYP website - musta missed that somehow!

10 weeks (if they're accurate) is a lot more palatable than the 6 months you're looking at. SY have cashed the cheque and sent me the form for 'date availability', which I sent back a couple of weeks ago. All being well, I'm just waiting for a call for them to come and see me. The cabinet is installed ready for inspection.