Misfires and Hangfires

Help Support :

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hotshot100

I am asking this as a direct response to a letter that appeared in the June issue of Pull magazine and was in response to a letter in the March edition.

Have you experienced or witnessed a misfire( the failure of a gun to go off ) even though the hammer has definitely fallen?

Have you experienced or witnessed a hang fire (delay between the hammer falling and the cartridge firing)?

Would you describe these two occurrences as one and the same thing and what course of action should be taken when this occurs.

Last edited by a moderator:
A hangfire is when there is a delay between the hammer falling and he cartridge firing. A misfire is when the cartridge does not fire at all.

I am not experienced so don't know whether the two are the same but I have had my gun misfire twice.  Obviously I remained in the stand with my gun pointing out, the first time I was a bit nervous so asked my husband to take the gun from me obviously still pointing it out over the stand and he has opened the gun and removed the cartridges.  He then put two new cartridges in the gun and fired it for me before returning the gun to me.   Don't know why this has happened nothing wrong with my gun, the cartridge has definitely been struck.  The second and last time it happened I removed them myself.  He usually decommissions these cartridges.

Had both, albeit rarely and only one 'hang fire'.

Can't explain what causes the 'hang-fire' but in my experience it was literally split seconds between pulling the trigger and the cartridge discharging but quite noticeable.