Baggers...How, Why, When? Truth or Fiction?

Help Support :

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

radrac

Prompted by Jasper's comments re C class at Kegworth being won with an 83 I thought I would start a thread that many would have an interest in, and partly to educate me a little in the "dark arts" that many seem to think exist, particularly in C.

At risk of boring any who have read my previous posts I have been shooting for seven months and reg comps for four months. I am fortunate to be able to practice more than most and to receive the ongoing benefit of a great education at OLSS. Shooting has enabled me to begin competitive sport again at an age that I thought it was unlikely to happen; I have no interest in just being okay and so have committed myself accordingly. After (a quite normal...I think) period of "finding myself" and stumbling through 40s, 50s, and 60s, I won (jointly) my first C class last weekend at the Shooting Club Upavon with a 73, and this weekend shot a 74 at Gunsite Marlborough. Obviously if progress is made at a similar pace I should break 80 at some stage in the next six months of this issue.

So the questions are....

1) How many winning C class with these kind of scores do not have my naturally progressing profile?

2) What would the normal profile of a "bagger" be?

3) What cynical practices do "baggers" engage in?

4) Does it make financial sense?

5) Is it a practice that is significant enough that the whole shooting community should be concerned?

6) Is it just a mirage that shooters see when confronted with statistical outliers that occur in any form of life?

Over to the "grey beards" of the community to educate an innocent and naieve newbie! :huh:

Great topic radrac ... I'm also a new registered shooter in the CPSA (November 2011) and am working my way through C class, I'm putting in the time and effort to try and move up .