90yd edge on crosser

Help Support :

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Aspire

OK,it has been suggested that a 90yd edge on crosser,can be killed 5 out of 10 times,with a 28gauge,half choke and 21gm shell.

Hoping to see if we can set it up and try it out at Owls Lodge soon. Personally I think no way! Maybe you'll get a lucky pellet once or twice in fifty!? Maybe!

I'm waiting for some plaster to dry,so what do all you ballistics experts think?

I have patterned cartridges as 45 yards and even the good ones look a bit shabby out there, certainly for consistent edge on clays anyway. Weirdly, performance on real clays seems to look better than a pattern would suggest. But 90 yard edge on? Gotta be inconsistent at best.

I have wondered that as well.... how far is 90m at Owls Lodge.... from the 'rail' in front of the clubhouse, is the bank at the back 90m?  More or Less?

I'm not good at imagining distances....

I have wondered that as well.... how far is 90m at Owls Lodge.... from the 'rail' in front of the clubhouse, is the bank at the back 90m?  More or Less?

I'm not good at imagining distances....
From memory, I would say OLSS rail to bank is max 70? 90 is a long way out.. Ref with binoculars needed to spot the chips..

Wayne, not sure why or by whom 28 gauge specifically was suggested because all that matters is the payload and to some extent the choke. Ballistically that is all but impossible to achieve with any consistency, not only will pattern density be non existent but also depending on shot size the kinetic energy would be insufficient to deliver repeatable results, bear in mind you're looking at single lucky strikes here not multiple hits. 

We also have the problem of marksmanship but personally I think that is almost of secondary importance !