Should we turn the clock back to get more people shooting?

Help Support :

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Salopian

With the current economic climate would it not be a good idea to turn the clock back to the days of regular 25 & 50 bird shoots?

A friend recently did a Fitasc shoot which was £140 for 200 targets + his cartridges , B&B and fuel cost him £500 for the weekend .

Surely to get more people out and about shooting we should consider more 25 DTL, Compact and maybe a few stands Sporting where people can indulge themselves for a nominal £20 or £30 outlay?

Most of us it is costing around £100 per 100 bird Sporting and that could be the death knell for our sport.

I started shooting clays 30 years ago as a school boy and I was fanatical. A fully paid up member of a local small club. That involved 40 sporting once a fortnight and that was my lot. I counted the days to the next shoot!

Around 15 regulars taking turns to mark and work the manual traps. Gather at 9.30 and finish around 1.00 then home for sunday lunch. I loved it. Within 20 miles there were 5/6 clubs all doing the same which meant we would occasionally have inter club shoots. Only two of those clubs now remain and are clinging on.

We live in a different world now. Everything is much more accessible and expectations are higher. I can now go to a ground mid week on my own and shoot 40 sporting in 15 mins. Is it better than my childhood? I'm not sure. There's plus's and negatives but turning the clock back rarely works.

PM.

There's plus's and negatives but turning the clock back rarely works.

PM.