How much is too much ?

Help Support :

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Deershooter

What’s everyone’s thoughts on the price of shooting ? 

How much are you willing to pay per clay / round and are cartridges a fair price ?

£40 per 100 birds

£10 in fuel 

£10 food and drink 

£30 in cartridges 

add a round of sport trap/ skeet/DTL And it’s a £100 pound day out ,what’s peoples view ? 

I started shooting about 20 years ago and did it for 2 years. I then moved abroad, I have since moved back and started shooting again, and am really enjoying it and try not to look at the cost compared with 20 years ago!!

But you’re right it’s about £100 all in for about an hour or two of fun. When I play golf I’m there for 4-5 hrs (including the 19th hole(beer), and it costs all in about £30. 

When  I go mountain biking it costs me nothing.

When I drive my garage queen sports car, it’s amazing fun, but only costs fuel. And a little maintenance cost.

so conclusion is shooting is the most expensive hobby I have-but still enjoy it!

No doubt its getting expensive but shoots are as busy as ever. Smaller non reg shooting grounds local to us are seeing increased footfall because of the prices at the bigger grounds. Yet registered comps are still very busy at the bigger grounds. I do a mix of both, shoot the cheaper local grounds quite a bit and then do the odd registered and the major comps and championships, its all about finding the right balance to suit you budget. Clay shooting certainly doesn't seem to be declining from it yet anyway.

The other outgoings cost of living/energy etc haven't really sunk in as yet. Yes everything is going up but now, but we have another big hit coming shortly

We may see a decline March time and onwards when they hit home and people start to decide what really counts in their life.