Shotgun certificate referee

Help Support :

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

footsie

Hello all,

I’m just wondering does the referee that you give when applying for a licence get a visit from the police or is it just a phone call?

Thanks in advance!

Last edited by a moderator:
When I lived in Scotland I had to give referee's on three occasions for both firearms and shotgun certs... none of them was ever approach for a reference ??? I was a referee for a couple of applications... never heard from the police at all???

My ref' was visited, but that was in the early 80s.  Mind you, the whole process only took about 5 weeks.

When I lived in Scotland I had to give referee's on three occasions for both firearms and shotgun certs... none of them was ever approach for a reference ??? I was a referee for a couple of applications... never heard from the police at all???
Yes me the same, my referee’s never got a call.

My FEO sat outside my house after my home visit, I wondered what he was doing, wondering if it was a good or bad thing.

I found out a few minutes later when my referee called to say he’d been on the phone to him. I’ve never heard of a referee being visited.

Beats me why they bother with referees, I mean you're not going to put somebody down who is going to put a spanner in the works are you 
If I recall correctly years ago you're referee used to have to be somebody who was of a certain profession (Accountant, solicitor, doctor ect) to give a bit of weight to the character reference. Where as now its just anyone who you're not related to and have known for a few years.

Beats me why they bother with referees, I mean you're not going to put somebody down who is going to put a spanner in the works are you 
Valid point. I also cant see the reason for going through this process on renewel applications