Is clay shooting a declining sport?

Help Support :

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

7iain7

I was wonder if the numbers of clay shooters (in all it's forms)  is on the decline, I've tried searching google to find an answer, but to no avail.

Because I have noticed there seems to be less people at my local shoot recently but this could just be specific to this shoot. 

I do feel the more people who shoot clay the stronger the voice we have.

Last edited by a moderator:
What I have noticed is that the average age of those shooting is getting older. There are not as many youngsters coming through as when I first started shooting. This could be down to several different factors. No interest, no spare cash from the parents, too engrossed in x-box, play station and social media.

I am fairly new to shooting, and when I talk about it to my mates/colleagues, the perception is always that it’s a rich man’s (Or woman‘s) game, not for everyday folk.

I am not sure that shooters have the best image, currently so I feel we are fighting an uphill battle. 

Not from where I'm standing. I don't see a decline in overall numbers but, like others, I stopped visiting both my local shoots in 2011 because of poor value. People drifted away because the owners had got lazy and expected people to pay £28 to shoot 100 sporting clays - for which sum there was a whole 5 stands and no scorers.

A couple of Sundays ago I went to a registered sporting shoot and paid £35 for 100 birds set over 13 stands, each with a scorer/ref.

It's not a cheap hobby and people vote with either their feet or their wallets. Some grounds do well and always get good turnouts but, for one reason or another, others are less popular - but the real addicts always show up to shoot every chance they get.