Sim Game day recommendations

Help Support :

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lloyd

I’ve been recommended to do a simulated game day. I’m told it would suit my style of shooting and play to my strengths and I must say I do quite fancy it. 

Thats said, as a total noob, where would I best try for a first time?

Also, what if any etiquette should I follow?

Thanks in advance 

Lloyd

I think they're great fun! They're run in a similar style to a game day; typically you turn up and have a breakfast with a safety briefing and explanation of the days format. Then it's off to the 'pegs' which are normally shared with someone else. You'll shoot for a 'drive' whilst the other chap loads for you. Then you'll swap and load for them before moving on. 

You'll shoot a slab of cartridges easily so it's worth using 21gm loads to save the shoulder.

Not too sure where you're based but there are a few places that have their 2020 dates up already:

https://www.honesberieshooting.co.uk/simulated-game-days/ Honesberie don't have their dates up yet but it's worth giving them a call to register interest

https://www.barburyshootingschool.com/latest-simdates 

https://www.jbdsporting.co.uk/simulated-game-days

https://www.theoxfordshireshootingschool.co.uk/game-shooting/simulated-game

You’ll enjoy such a day 

Simulated  days vary as do real driven days . You can go for the whole hog fully catered breakfast , elevenses and lunch if you want or something more modest .  I’ve been on a few , normally a jolly mix of people 

The  thing that all simulated will all have in common is a gun line of  eight or more people shooting without cages .  On most of the ones I’ve done each drive was shot by 2 or 3 different teams of 9 or 10 people each team shooting a full flush then swopping . When you’re not shooting you can stuff and/or spot for the shooter