Absolute beginner

Help Support :

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Centrepin

Hello,

New to Clay's.

Been shooting over 50 years, if it goes bang there's a chance I'll have at least wanted a go. Mostly rifle, pistol and various mg's.

Recently retired and my son and two oldest granddaughters have persuaded me to take up Clay's.

The last ten years or so I've only been clay shooting a couple of times a year, but since retiring am going at least once a week so I can finally justify owning a gun of my own.

My two youngest grandchildren (8 & 6) and their Mum, are also keen to try so it's going to be a family affair as my wife's a fair shot as well.

Trouble is I'm rubbish, so I've sooooo much to learn. 

As well as shooting I also enjoy course fishing but these days tend to be a fair weather fisherman.

Be careful, it's addictive. Try to forget your rifle shooting experience. Make sure you focus on the clay, not the barrel. And keep the gun moving.

Two of my faults in one sentence! I do keep looking at the end of the barrel at the last split second.....and miss. My son says my follow through is very poor. I'm working on both.

I'm also late in shooting as I'm "thinking" it too much. 

Two of my faults in one sentence! I do keep looking at the end of the barrel at the last split second.....and miss. My son says my follow through is very poor. I'm working on both.

Make a plan before you get in the cage. No reason to be late... Three key points that all coaches will tell you. View Point, Kill Point, Hold point. They will all have slightly different reasons on how to pick these so have a look around on YouTube and find what works for you. Smokin Targets is a good starting point. 

As has been said, focus on the clay and over time you will learn to become barrel aware, you will see the barrel/bead in your vision without having to move the focus backwards and forwards between gun and clay.