Suck at crossers

Help Support :

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Adam17

Im new to shooting, so not the best anyway... But crossers in particular I super struggle with, to the point where once or twice I have got to a stand, seen its a crosser and just walked on to the next.

Im not into competitions, I just go to bust some clays on my days off. But it would be nice to be able to hit the things...

How do you get your head back in the game of persuing the 'hard' target??

One pleasant surprise was that I was able to consistently hit a high flying driven midi! When the last time I went I couldn't hit it for anything.....

Im new to shooting, so not the best anyway... But crossers in particular I super struggle with, to the point where once or twice I have got to a stand, seen its a crosser and just walked on to the next.

Im not into competitions, I just go to bust some clays on my days off. But it would be nice to be able to hit the things...

One pleasant surprise was that I was able to consistently hit a high flying driven midi! When the last time I went I couldn't hit it for anything.....
Firstly as a beginner, this post doesn't belong in the sports psychology section. It will be a technical (learning) issue at this stage. Its also impossible to comment without seeing you miss them.. But if you see me at a ground I promise to advise as best I can. But if you go for a practice, try the good old pull away method and experiment with lead until you find it..

maybe go and practice some skeet.

I think beginners have trouble shooting "to miss" in front, also crossers need more lead than targets at any other angle so this might be a clue.

I would find an easy shoot (like "three counties" - 30 minutes south of Reading) and get some practise before moving on to tougher shoots. As Nick says, Skeet is great practise for crossers too, it's only £7.50 a round (plus ammo) at Bisley.