Cartridge advise

Help Support :

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dick Arbon

I am going to sound like a novice now because of the question I am going to ask you learned folk, but trust me I am not.I used to shoot loads years ago but had to stop shooting clays because of raising a young family, apart from shooting a few straw balers every year. Pigeon shooting was my main game and I have been a professional guide in the past.When I stopped competitive clays Express cartridges were the fastest yet softest recoil cartridge on the market, I think it was due to the Vectan powder they used back then. I have used the budget express cartridges fairly recently and thought the recoil was a bit harsh.I am a fairly big bloke and recoil doesn't bother me much but I still think the less recoil the better , but I would not want to compromise kill quality in favour of less recoil too much.I am obviously going to have to do alot of research myself but I was hoping you ' guys n gels ' could cut a few corners for me.As price should no longer be such an issue I would like to hear your advise on any make.I want to know the best fibre wad cartridges  in relation to recoil, and the best plaswad loads in your individual opinions .I am thinking of trying Express World Cup in both plaswad and fibre first. Waiting advise with eager anticipation. Happy Trigger

There are many more people on here that can comment.However IMO the softest on the shoulder I have found when using an OU were Hull Comp X, great value and work well.Gamebore White GoldBlue Diamond are also nice due to the Gordon recoil system in them and very clean.Most of the other low end ones I have tried; even through my auto are a bit kicky, Nobel Sport being the worst.Jon.