Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

ChewyDan

Not another 'which gun' thread...

ChewyDan

Well, sort of.

Hi all, new to the sport after a few experience days and starting lessons soon. I'm in no rush to buy my first gun, but I am naturally narrowing down my options.

Is anyone aware of any shooting grounds that have a decent range of demo / training guns to try? Or decent gun shops attached to a shooting ground? I'm based in the South-East, but distance is not a problem.

Also, I'll take any recommendations on any game fairs / shows coming up in 2019 that are well represented by the major manufacturers? Just be good to try out a few alongside each other as I'm not sure as a novice I'd be able to tell what I like and don't like about a gun unless there's a direct comparison available.

Cheers in advance! 👍

Danny

Will Hewland

EJ Churchill, Oxford Gun co, William Evans at Bisley, Southdown are all gun shops at grounds. 

ChewyDan

Cheers Will,

Do any of those have a better reputation than the others or are they all pretty similar?

PhilR

Chris Potter Guns at Tunbridge Wells used to have an arrangement with West Kent Shooting School a few miles away to try guns, might be worthwhile checking if they still do.

Further away there's Ian Coley's gun shop on his ground, that's just outside Cheltenham.

A bit further still is Premier Guns at Doveridge shooting ground in Derbyshire.

Bebo

Potters will let you take demo guns away to try.  West Kent and Willow Farm aren't far away.  Don't think Southdown have much of a range in their shop (although I haven't looked for a while)

Will Hewland
7 hours ago, ChewyDan said:

Cheers Will,

Do any of those have a better reputation than the others or are they all pretty similar?