Winter Clay Shooting Attire

Help Support :

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rod M

Hi All,

I only started shooting in April and purchased an inexpensive Seeland vest that, whilst it does the job, is rather too hot for comfort in the summer (or at least this summer). With some more moderate weather gracing us over the last couple of weeks, my mind has, however, turned to clay shooting attire during the winter. I see a few logical options:

1. Wear a water/windproof technical jacket (hiking, climbing etc.) with a lightweight clay vest on top - in my case, I would replace my current vest with a mesh one for use in both summer and winter
  2. Buy a dedicated clay shooting jacket (long sleeved)
  3. Buy a field shooting jacket (which could be used for clays, game, and more general wear)
What do most do? What is the best way forward?

Thanks

Rod

Whatever you go for, make sure you can move well in it, most “shooting clothing” is expensive and we have gone down the route of golf clothing which has plenty of room for swinging the club/gun.  I too have Seeland vests and they are rather thick, so in the autumn or spring I wear them with golf waterproofs underneath, in the full blown winter I have a Musto waterproof full jacket in a girly pink colour!  In the summer I just wear my Musto shooting vest or use a pouch.

Use sites like EBay where you can normally get bargains, my hubby has put loads of shooting jackets on there in the past and they’ve always sold easily and quickly.  You will find the longer you shoot the more clobber you end up with.  Between us we have more jackets, shooting vests and boots than we know what to do with.  Good luck!