Choking for a newbie?

Help Support :

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

El Spavo

So what're the opinions on this?

I have been told a few times that for a first gun it would be handy to get it multichoked, but I'm aware I'm still learning to shoot efficiently so how much difference is it likely to make in this rudimentary phase, presuming that the gun is set up correctly initially? The other side is if I went for a fixed choke model, then what type of choking do I effectively & realistically want to be going for?

If you go for a multi-choke gun stick in 1/4 and 1/2 and forget about changing them for a while.

If you go for a fixed choke gun then I wouldn't go any tighter than 1/2 and 1/2.

Above all assumes that you are shooting english sporting.

Just avoid tight chokes ideally especially at the early stages, when you’re likely to be shooting closer targets, where tight choke will hurt you most. But don’t get hung up on it, of all the things that will affect your progress, choke is about bottom of the list.

Thanks, both comments are kind of where I was thinking. I'm only gonna be shooting clays and thought that if I was looking at fixed choke then 1/2 & 1/2 would be a good start so I get a balance of long & short distance.

Just want a balanced starting point. 😊

1/4 choke in both barrels with a 28g cartridge( cheapest available), shot size 8, will break the majority of targets decisively on a sporting layout if you do your bit. It is best to stack the odds in your favour. 

Last edited by a moderator:
Thanks, both comments are kind of where I was thinking. I'm only gonna be shooting clays and thought that if I was looking at fixed choke then 1/2 & 1/2 would be a good start so I get a balance of long & short distance.