SIlver pigeon... how many types?!

Help Support :

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

El Spavo

Hi,

So, I'm REALLY new to the world of clay shooting but really enjoying it as my third time in I jumped from my second go score of 39 in 100 at Barbury to 54 in 90 (for some reason we ran out of time which raised a few eyebrows?!) so chuffed that even with beginners luck that's a 60% hit rate, but my licence is due in the next few weeks hopefully (FEO has sent the paperwork off) so it's time to look around at a starter gun. I've read other's thoughts on what is what, and I am totally getting that there are arguments for and against getting cheap, new turkish ATA type guns and also second guns from the usual stables of Beretta/Browning/Miruko, etc. but all the same concluding whatever feels 'right'.

So a second hand 686 seems to fit within that mold, and it's certainly recommended alongside things like the MK60/70, etc. and I'm not really fussed about how they look, it's not my thing, it's just that they seem to make soooo many different types, it's making it virtually impossible to work out what's what... as an example, Guntrader list 46 different types of 686 in their search! It slightly concerns me that if I was to come across a Silver Pigeon, I might try it and think it a horrible fit simply because it's a certain model that I shouldn't even be looking at cos it's built for my intentions. Hope that makes sense?

Open to any type of gun at the moment, but can anyone give a bit of a definitive explanation as to what all the numbers, letters & names for the 686 mean, cos it's really putting me off looking at what seems to be a popular model?

You should be looking for a 686 Sporter , multichoke . 30 or 32 inch barrels if you are a clay shooter .

I think all the variations on Guntrader are probably down to how their website is configured