Hello from South Yorkshire

Help Support :

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sludgie

Good evening all,

My name is Nick, I’m 46 and I’m in the Royal Navy (Chief Petty Officer Submariner). I started shooting clays whilst based down south a few years back, but stopped when I moved jobs. I’ve always been keen to get back into shooting as I would like to shoot both clays and game eventually. I’ve just applied for my shotgun certificate and have just bought a gun cabinet (a 3 gun cabinet) which will hopefully be arriving at the weekend. I have a thousand questions, and I am hoping the experienced forum members will forgive an obvious question or two! I’ve certainly learnt a lot just browsing around the various forums, and I hope to become a regular contributor as I start my shooting journey once again..I’m looking to start with some lessons at a shooting school near me, with the aim of purchasing a gun when issued my certificate. I’d be grateful for any advice you could give a newbie, and look forward to getting to know you all...Best wishes, Nick 

Hi ! You are on the right track taking lessons . A couple of hundred quid now will pay back tenfold over the next few years . The only other piece of advice I will give you is just enjoy yourself for a bit and don’t  dash out and buy a new gun.Buy a  good used one as you will more than likely be swopping as things start to click , so why take a kick in the pants on depreciation !