Sporting Practice

Help Support :

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

adam-f

Hello all.

I was looking for a few tips on the best way to improve my sporting practice.

I started clay shooting in March and steadily improved, I shot a pb of 72 /100 in the first registered sporting I entered but have entered 3 more since and the 72 is still a P.B.

When I practice I tend to shoot 100 sporting, 8 per stand in the order the stands suggest (eg on report or sim) practicing this way I can track my scores and have some competition against myself as I often shoot alone. 

I no longer feel like Im improving and am interested to hear how others go about it??

Can't see your score on CPSA, but assuming a decent shoot, 72 is pretty good at this stage. Sporting just takes ages to learn. You will improve over the next 10 years! Just shooting plenty will help, but if you are self-taught, you may be locking in bad habits, so get a few decent lessons now and get your technique verified and you will have something to work on. Other than that, don't waste too many shots on stuff you can hit in practice. Push yourself to the harder stuff

Last edited by a moderator:
I've shot sporting for many years self taught until I had help from a friend whose a really good shooter and a lesson with an instructor.I have been able to see where I need to improve 

slowly getting better but it's going to take a while!! 

Can't see your score on CPSA, but assuming a decent shoot, 72 is pretty good at this stage. Sporting just takes ages to learn. You will improve over the next 10 years! Just shooting plenty will help, but if you are self-taught, you may be locking in bad habits, so get a few decent lessons now and get your technique verified and you will have something to work on. Other than that, don't waste too many shots on stuff you can hit in practice. Push yourself to the harder stuff