Help from 725 owners

Help Support :

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

perazman

I have a fancy for a Gd5 725 Sporter. The plan is to buy a cheaper second hand Gd1 and put it through its paces first. before taking the plunge. The Gd1 would then be kept as a rough gun and the Gd5 for best!

My question is,are the differences between the old Gd1 and the new Gd1 purely cosmetic or do they handle differently? Will it matter which one I buy?

If there is a difference in handling I'd assume the Gd5 is based on the old model?

Hope that makes sense to someone?!

King Regards

PM.

I have no experience of the Gd.5 Sporter other than one of my shooting buddies has one. He seems very pleased with it and shoots it very well. I have the 725 Gd. 3 Black Edition Sporter and I have had 1/2" removed from the stock, it too handles very well. The only thing that I can say is, you really do have to try whichever you choose, BEFORE you buy. I handled 3 different 725's and they all felt different. I ended up buying one with an adjustable comb (which I just happen to really hate) because it felt the most well balanced and a pound lighter than it's 8lbs 3ozs. actual weight. I have the comb at it's flattest setting and have thrown the key away  !  I know this does not wholly answer your question, but the only other advice is to look second hand. Grade 5 stocks seem to be doing a lot of breaking at present  !

Thanks Westley.

I get what you're saying. I originally looked at the 525's. With Browning's love of tweaking models things get confusing. The new basic model Sporter One has better chokes,better butt pad and better balance/handling than the current Gd5 Prestige!

Hence my reason for looking at the725's. A trip to a large dealer looks in order.

PM.